Dear <Publisher>,

I’ve finished my manuscript and seeking publication. . .

Marketing? I know you asked for a marketing plan, but I don’t have a website, blog, and don’t plan to use Facebook, Twitter, or any other social network. I really don’t know anything about marketing or how to approach this. I do want my book published, but I’m not really interested in marketing. Besides, if I knew how to market my book, I wouldn’t need a publisher.

Sincerely,

Janie Writer

Dear Ms. Writer,

A marketing plan is part of our submission process. If you’re not interested in marketing your book why would we want to work with you or publish it?

Sincerely,

<Editor/Publisher>

Don’t laugh. I’ve seen emails like the above from writers seeking publication.

Any publisher, including traditional publishers, assumes that a writer will market his or her work. If a writer chooses to self-publish, I’m curious how the writer thinks anyone (outside of friends and relatives) will find, must less buy, the book.

Think a large publisher will pay for the marketing? Delete that thought from your mindset. In today’s publishing world, outside of a small advance – if one is even offered – publishers don’t budget much if anything for marketing of a midlist or new author’s book. If you don’t have a highly recognizable name (King, Roberts, Patterson, Grisham, etc.), don’t expect the publisher to spend much on the marketing of your book.

There are many helpful articles online, so if you don’t know much about marketing, read and learn as much as you can. You don’t have to spend tons of money or hire a high priced PR firm to makes sales.

Google “marketing your novel” or similar phrases and read those articles. They have tips on where and how to market, what works and what doesn’t.

No promotion by the author = no sales.

Bottom line: when I come across a writer who has no interest in marketing, my voice is REJECT.

Here’s a submission—focus on marketing—that most publishers would be happy to see.

Dear <Publisher>,

I’ve finished my manuscript and seeking publication. . .

My marketing plan: I plan on having a website built for my book, as my author’s website. I’ll make use of Twitter, Facebook, and other social networks. I’ll make or have someone make a video trailer for the book and use my website and YouTube to promote it. I’ll also contact libraries and bookstores to arrange book signings. After researching marketing tools and websites, I’ll make use of the ones that are best suited for my novel. I’ll also have copies that I’ll buy which I can send out to book reviewers.

Sincerely,

Janie Writer

This is an author I would be willing to work with as I know she would put time and effort into promoting and marketing her novel.

Question for today: When you’re ready to submit your writing, what’s your marketing plan?

Best Wishes,

June

