Goals are like the center marks on a highway. They are visible and doable. They are the road we travel. They seem to be taking us on a journey, but to where?

I’ve been reviewing some of my short terms goals and it got me thinking. All of these goals should be pointing to something down the road. But to what? What is the larger picture of what I’m doing? What is my purpose? When I got to the word “purpose” I stopped. That’s what I was missing. I had not defined this. If I can’t verbalize the overall purpose for why these goals are the right ones for me, I’ll never get out of my comfort zone. Or not completely to a place where I can live the life I want for myself.

For my goals, whether I achieve them or not, should be leading me down a highway that I have defined. If not, then I’m probably going in circles. If I’m not going anywhere, it’s a big clue that I’m caught in my comfort zone and not really making the progress I thought I was.

Purpose is all about direction. It is defined by values and beliefs. It cannot come from outside of yourself. It cannot be defined by anyone but you.

While my goals are the road I’m traveling, I also need that map to make sure those goals support my overall purpose.

What is it I want to achieve with my life? Are my goals taking me there or leading me astray?

I know where I am and where I’ve been. Those are good starting points in making sure I know where I’m going. I’ve thought and thought about what my purpose is. I’ve done some journaling. It’s even crept into my dreams. (And yes, I wrote those down.)

Then I asked myself: Deep within my soul, what do I find satisfying?

I’ve always loved helping others. I’ve loved being able to help people find their way to what they want to do. That’s one of the reasons I became a writing coach. It was another way to achieve this. Along the way, I had to grow and change and expand so that I could do this. Out of this I found my purpose: I want to reach out to others and have a positive impact on them.

Part of having a purpose is: What do I get out of this?

Once I could write down my purpose, this part was easier. I am re-inspired and learn and grow when I help someone realize their own dream. (And no, this in no way means I have to give up anything to fulfill my purpose. Your purpose should enhance your life, not have the opposite effect. If that’s the case, you need to re-evaluate what your purpose is.)

How do you know if the purpose you discover is the RIGHT one? Maybe thinking in terms of right and wrong don’t make a lot of sense when defining your purpose. I know I’m on the right path, using the right map, when I wake up in the morning and I feel all light and excited to have another new day before me. It’s about how I FEEL and my INTUITION.

Always revisit your goals to make sure they are supporting your purpose. Ask yourself:

What am I achieving through this goal?

Why am I doing this?

My comfort zone CANNOT close me off to the world if I understand my purpose and have goals that will carry me in that direction.

Challenge for today: Take a look at where you’ve been and where you are now. Can you see and verbalize where you’re going? Are you on the a road that will get you to your purpose?

Best Wishes,

June

